See More: Community Impact


2015 EXCEL Award Winners

The three winners and two honorable mention candidates of the Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman 2014 Excellence in Chief Executive Leadership (EXCEL) Award were announced at the Center for Nonprofit Advancement’s annual meeting on October 21, 2015.

2015 EXCEL Award Winners and Honorable Mentions

Center for Nonprofit Advancement Board of Directors.

2015 Winners and Honorable Mention Candidates

  • Michael Bobbitt, Producing Artist Director, Adventure Theater, MTC- EXCEL Award Winner
  • Nicole Lamoureux, Chief Executive Officer, National Association of Free & Charitable Clinics – EXCEL Award Winner
  • Kathy Sibert, President/CEO,Arlington Street People’s Assistance Network (A-SPAN) – EXCEL Award Winner
  • Peg Hacskaylo, Founder and Executive Director, District Alliance for Safe Housing (DASH) – Honorable Mention
  • Nicole Lynn Lewis, Founder and Executive Director, Generation Hope – Honorable Mention

Take a look at our past EXCEL award recipients.

About the EXCEL Nonprofit Award:

Since 2006, Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman CPAs has sponsored the Excellence in Chief Executive Leadership (EXCEL) award. Our team has long supported Washington DC-area nonprofits and our participation in this program helps us demonstrate our commitment to helping dedicated nonprofits achieve financial success to advance their missions in health, education, environmental preservation, social justice, international development and other areas.

This competitive award recognizes the achievements of up to three outstanding nonprofit leaders in the Washington, DC metropolitan region. Each winner receives a $5,000 professional development account to use in his or her role as an organization’s chief executive. Each winning organization also receives a $2,000 grant to provide professional development opportunities for its staff.

Each honorable mention recipient’s organization will receive a $1,000 award to support professional development programs for the candidate and/or its staff.

Candidates must demonstrate leadership excellence in innovation, motivation, community-building, inclusiveness or diversity or ethical integrity. The competition, which is sponsored by Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman CPAs and administered by the Center for Nonprofit Advancement, is open to any executive director, CEO, president or other chief salaried employee of a Washington-area nonprofit organization with an annual budget of under $10 million. 

Nominated individuals must have served as the chief executive in their current organization for a minimum of three years as of May 31, 2015. All examples and explanations used in the application must have occurred during the applicant’s tenure at the current organization. Past EXCEL Award winners are ineligible for future EXCEL Award consideration.

Any individual meeting the above requirements may be nominated. There is no fee or membership requirements to participate. Board members, staff, volunteers, clients and business or community members may nominate a chief executive for this award.

For more information:

Glen O’Gilvie, Chief Executive Officer
Center for Nonprofit Advancement
Joe Kovacs, Marketing Director
Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman CPAs